Introductions to Heritage Assets

An introduction to hermitages (places which housed a religious individual or group seeking solitude and isolation).

Six types of medieval hermitage have been identified based on their siting: island and fen; forest and hillside; cave; coast; highway and bridge; and town. Descriptions of solitary; cave; communal; chantry; and lighthouse hermitages; and town hermits and their development are included. Hermitages have a large number of possible associations and were fluid establishments, overlapping with hospices, hospitals, monasteries, nunneries, bridge and chantry chapels and monastic retreats.


  • Summary
  • Introduction
  • Categories
  • Literary evidence
  • Description and development
  • Subsequent history
  • Associations
  • Further reading
  • Where to get advice

Additional Information

  • Series: Guidance
  • Publication Status: Completed
  • Pages: 18
  • Product Code: HEAG205


If you require an alternative, accessible version of this document (for instance in audio, Braille or large print) please contact us:

Customer Service Department

Telephone: 0370 333 0607
Email: [email protected]